Submission Deadline: 30-09-2019

More information on the call here.

The Salzburger Kunstverein announces the SpallArt Prize Salzburg. This international award for excellence in contemporary art is a rotating prize. For the years 2019 to 2021, the focus will be on contemporary photography. The inaugural winner in 2019 is Pierre Descamps (France/Germany).

Sponsored by SpallArt, the SpallArt Prize Salzburg consists of €4,000 and a residency at the Salzburger Kunstverein.

Applicants must be practising artists who work with photography and who have a signficiant professional practise (ie. exhibitions in contemporary art institutions). Applications must be accompanied by a recommendation from a recognized art professional (professors, artists, art critics or curators / directors of museums, galleries, Kunstvereine, or other public art institutions). A one page recommendation form and further application material may be found here.

Applications without recommendation will not be reviewed. The present jury is Karin Peyker (Artist-Photographer, Board Member, Salzburger Kunstverein), Adrian Paci (Artist, Italy/Albania), and Christiane Kuhlmann (Curator, Photography/Media Art, Museum der Moderne, Salzburg).

The winning candidate will be offered a one month residency at the Salzburger Kunstverein in 2020 as well as the €4,000 prize. A limited edition of an agreed photograph will be provided to the Salzburger Kunstverein by the successful artist (costs borne by the Salzburger Kunstverein).

Deadline for submissions: 30 September, midnight Central European Time, 2019. Only the successful candidate will be contacted.